Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors Proclamation

CELEBRATING THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE VOTING RIGHTS ACT OF 1965

WHEREAS, on August 6, 1965, President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Voting Rights Act into law; and

WHEREAS, this landmark piece of federal legislation prohibits racial discrimination in voting and has been amended by Congress five times in order to expand its protections; and

WHEREAS, the Act was designed to enforce the voting rights guaranteed by the 14th and 15th Amendments to the United States Constitution, allowing a mass enfranchisement of racial minorities throughout the country; and

WHEREAS, the Act contains numerous provisions that regulate the administration of elections and provide nationwide protections for voting rights; and

WHEREAS, the Act requires jurisdictions with significant language/minority populations to provide bilingual ballots and other election materials; and

WHEREAS, the Act has been the single most effective tool in this century to protect the right to vote and assuring the integrity of the voting process; and

WHEREAS, several Santa Cruz County residents, including Bob Fitch, Maria Gitin, Paul and Pat Bokulich, Karen and Darrell Darling, Patricia Ann Phillips Archdeacon, and Richard Aryeh Nanas, risked their lives during the southern Civil Rights Movement to ensure the voting rights of African Americans and all citizens, and it is fitting to recognize and honor them for their efforts; and

WHEREAS, it is also fitting to recognize Daniel Dodge Sr. for his contributions towards ensuring that provisions of the 1965 Voting Rights Act were applied to the City of Watsonville.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Greg Caput, Chairman of the Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors, hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, honor the significance of this Act, and further recognize the great contributions and achievements of our government leaders and civil rights activists towards encouraging participation in the democratic process and protecting voter rights.

Chairperson, Board of Supervisors

July 29, 2015

Date